Revamping the boat is finally done and all the guys are itching to go back to sea and do their thing. Deployment loomed overhead but we all knew it was coming. Underways built up to deployment but yet it was still months away.

     All the while I’m trying to figure out how on earth I’m going to cope with deployment and what would help keep us close while we are so far apart. I decided that we both needed a journal. I figured that it would be a good idea if we started writing in our journals prior to deployment and that during deployment we would write as often as we could. It was a way that we could write our feelings down and help ourselves cope with the separation.

     I began writing in mine after the first pre-deployment meeting. I wasn’t able to go to the meeting due to being in the middle of a move, but a friend of mine called with all the information I needed. After reviewing the information I was a little nervous so what better thing to do than to write down what I was feeling. I continued writing just about every night. I wrote what I was worried about as far as our relationship went, how we would cope with homecoming, what my husbands would be doing overseas and what I would be doing back at home… anything and everything I thought of concerning deployment went down in my journal.

     The nights I couldn’t sleep I would write which would help ease my restless mind. On top of writing in my journal, once deployment rolled around, I would write a page to a letter that would be sent to my husband every week. I found that writing as often as possible, which for me was once a day was a way for me to cope with deployment. One could say that I used it as a form of therapy.

     For anyone who is in the middle of deployment or is gearing up for deployment and has worries or fears about it, take a few minutes out of your day and write. Whether you open up a word document and start typing, start a blog on the web, open up a notebook or journal, or writing a letter to your husband (whether you can send it or not) expressing your feelings… just do it. You may find it as a relief to get out some emotions that are all bottled up. You don’t have to be a professional writer, have good handwriting or even spell well… just give it a try and see what comes of it.

